The Kondeletou temple in Livadi has a long history and went through many phases of construction.According to the founding inscription of the church, it was built in 1551. The central nave of the Assumption and to the left the nave of Agios Nikolaos, to whom the oldest church seems to have been dedicated, existed before the reconstruction of 1551.
Initially, this monument was a vaulted church with a single room, dedicated to the Holy Cross and to The Virgin Mary (Panagia) of Konteletou. Later, a narthex was added and then two more single-nave churches dedicated to Agios Nikolaos and Agios Georgios the Orphan were added on the north and south sides.
Today The Virgin Mary (Panagia) of Konteletou is one of the great Christian monuments of Kythira with many ecclesiastical relics, but also many tributes of folkloric interest. On the forecourt of the church are the graves of Cleon Triantaphyllou-Attik’s grandfather and grandmother.
The Virgin Mary (Panagia) of Konteletou is one of the few stauropegial churches of Kythira (subordinate, that is, directly to the Ecumenical Patriarchate). The Church is one of the stations of the procession (“tour”) of the icon of The Virgin Mary (Panagia) Myrtidiotissa, while it is one of the most picturesque churches in Kythira to view the Easter liturgies.
Access: paved road
CHURCHES AND MONASTERIES OF KYTHIRA
- Agia Barbara
- Agia Elessa
- Agia Moni
- Agioi Akindinoi
- Agioi Anargyroi in Xiroulaki
- Agioi Anargyroi in Paliokastro
- Agios Andreas
- Agios Dimitrios
- Agios Georgios of the Mountain
- Agios Ioannis in Krimnos
- Agios Ioannis Theologos
- Agios Nikolaos Krasas
- Agios Petros
- Agios Vlasios
- Osios Theodoros
- Panagia Myrtidiotissa
- Panagia Myrtidiotissa and Panagia Orfani in the castle of Chora
- Panagia Orfani of Mylopotamos